Licensure Date: 1979

Directory page last updated 8-3-2021

 Christina McGinnis, Executive Director Gail Curry, Program Operations Administrator
Deborah Loucks, Board Counsel
For Information Contact:
Kelly Woodard, Regulatory Supervisor Consultant
Department of Health
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C07
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3257

Office Hours: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm; M-F
Time Zone: Eastern
Phone: (850) 245-4355
Fax: (850) 922-8876
(Do not use FAX for applications)

Email: info@floridachiropracticmedicine.gov
Web address: www.floridaschiropracticmedicine.gov/licensing

Application fee: $100
Exam fee: Fees vary for each examination

Criminal background check: Yes
Fingerprinting: Yes
Term: Biennial, renew March 31, even-numbered years
Initial license fee: $305
Laws & Rules fee: $95.00
License Renewal fee: $379
Students: Students in final year of chiropractic program are eligible to apply to take exams for licensure.
Preceptor/Intern/Extern Program: Community Based Internship - student enrolled in last year of chiropractic school is approved to obtain pre-graduation clinical experience under the direct supervision of a chiropractor who is an adjunct faculty member of the chiropractic college in which the student is enrolled.
Require supervised practice prior to full licensure: No 
License(s) Required for Practice: Chiropractic Physician
Optional Certification: Acupuncture
Requirements: 40 hours every 2 years, with 2 of those hours in prevention of medical errors, and 1 of those hours in risk management of which 2 hours include Florida laws and rules; and 6 hours in record keeping and 2 hours in ethics.
Initial Licensure Biennium: All chiropractic physicians initially licensed within the biennium are exempt from the CE requirements for renewal with the exception of: 1) Within the first 12 months, one full day at a Florida Board of Chiropractic Medicine meeting at which disciplinary hearings are conducted as provided in subsection 6482-13.004(8), F.A.C. (NOTE: Initial licensure practitioners who reside out of the state may satisfy this requirement within 12 months after locating to the State of Florida.) 2) Six hours of record keeping/documentation and coding; 3) Two hours in the area of ethics and boundaries; 4) Two-hour course relating to prevention of medical errors; 5) Three hours of HIV/AIDS.

Distance Credits Allowed: 10 hours of general CE hours 
Program Criteria: See 64B2-13.004, F.A.C.
Board requires sexual boundaries training: No
Board requires AIDS awareness / risk prevention training: Initial license renewal - 3 hours
Other special areas of specific CE training required: Florida Laws & Rules, included in risk management, record keeping and ethics.

CONDITIONS FOR RECIPROCITY/ENDORSEMENT: The Licensure by Endorsement Law was repealed effective July 1, 1989. See sect. 460.406 (I)(e), F.S.
EXAMINATIONS ADMINISTERED BY STATE: Laws and Rules (separate fee applies)



NATIONAL BOARD EXAMINATIONS  Note: All scores must be at least 375. 460.406(2)(e) and 64B2 - 11.001(2)
Part I: Required
Part II: Required
Part III (WCCE): Required
Part IV: Required
Physiotherapy: Required
Acupuncture: Accepted
SPEC: Reciprocity/Endorsement: Not planning to use
Reinstatement Lapsed License: Not planning to use
Disciplinary Cases: Yes, probation issues
Impairment Review: Not planning to use



PHYSIOTHERAPY: Within scope of license practice with appropriate training.
Certification: N/A
Additional Education: N/A
Additional Examination: N/A
Additional Fee: N/A
Min. # years pre-professional education required for licensure: Requirements - see chapter 460.406(1)(d) - Brief Summary: Applicants who matriculated into chiropractic college prior to July 2, 1990: 2 years of residence college work, a bachelor’s degree program meeting state requirements. After July 1, 1990: Bachelor’s degree based on 4 years of study, program meeting state requirements. Please obtain a complete copy of the applicable section of Florida law. After July 1, 2000, completed, prior to matriculation in a chiropractic college, at least 3 years of residence college work, consisting of a minimum of 90 semester hours. Must have bachelors prior to examination. Chiropractic degree must consist of credits earned in the chiropractic program and may NOT include credit for courses from the bachelor's degree.
Accreditation for Chiropractic Programs/Institutions: Accredited by or has status with the Council on Chiropractic Education or its predecessor agency.

SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS FOR GRADUATES OF FOREIGN COLLEGES: Transcripts must be evaluated by an accredited U.S. college. Also see FL statutes 456.027: Notwithstanding any other provision of law, educational programs and institutions which are required by statute to be accredited, but which were accredited by an agency that has since ceased to perform an accrediting function, shall be recognized until such programs and institutions are accredited by a qualified successor to the original accrediting agency, an accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education, or an accrediting agency recognized by the board, or the department when there is no board; and FL statute 460.406.
SUMMARY OF SCOPE OF PRACTICE: (Contact State for precise definition by state law)
May examine, analyze and diagnose the human living body and its diseases by the use of any physical, chemical, electrical, or thermal method, and use the X-ray for diagnosing, and may use any other general method of examination for diagnosis and analysis taught in any school of chiropractic recognized and approved by the Florida State Board of Chiropractic Examiners. Chiropractic physicians may adjust, manipulate, or treat the human body by manual, mechanical, electrical or natural methods, or by the use of physical means, physiotherapy (including light, heat, water, or exercise) or by the oral administration of foods and food concentrates, food extracts, and may apply first aid and hygiene, but chiropractic physicians are expressly prohibited from prescribing or administering to any person any legend drug, or from performing any surgery, except as hereinabove stated or from practicing obstetrics.
Board regulates specialty council certification: No
Board permits or authorizes travel-to-treat requirements: Yes, must be licensed in another state.
Board permits or authorizes telemedicine practices: No
Licensees required to carry malpractice insurance: Yes, $100,000 per claim - minimum annual aggregate of not less than $300,000.
Additional legally accepted terms for chiropractor (in addition to Doctor of Chiropractic, D.C., Chiropractor, Chiropractic Doctor): Chiropractic Physician
Peer Review: Repealed 1996
Certified Chiropractic Physician Assistants: Contact board for regulation F.S.#460.4165; certified & registered, F.S. #460.4166
Board handles both licensing and disciplinary functions.
Michael Roberts, D.C. 
Julie Hunt, D.C.

Anthony Olivro, D.C. 
Walter Melton, Jr.,  D.C. 
Jason Comerford, D.C. 
Gretchen Saunders, Consumer
Ellen Ostman, Consumer 

STATISTICAL INFORMATION: Total # of Licensees as of 6/30/2017: 


# of Active licenses: 6,069
# of Inactive licenses: 262
# of Delinquent licenses: 288

# of Military Active Licenses: 11
# of Retired Licenses: 292
# of New licensees: 1,730
# of Resident licenses: 5,415
# of Non-Resident licenses: 644
# of Other Status:
(Ex: deceased/terminated/emeritus...)

  Certified Chiropractic Physician Assistants licenses: 233

Registered Chiropractic Assistants:
  Active licenses:
  Inactive licenses: 0
  Delinquent licenses: 0
  Retired licenses: 0