CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIANS' BOARD OF NEVADA
Licensure Date: 1923
Directory page last updated 1/16/2019
Federation does not provide interpretation of the scope of practice laws
or rules of any chiropractic licensing authority, nor can we provide
specific details regarding licensing requirements. The educational and
testing requirements for each State or Province set forth in this
Directory are intended as a general guide. It is strongly recommended
that anyone interested in becoming licensed in a particular State or
Province contact the Board office or the Secretary of the respective
board to secure current and complete details before matriculating in any
|Julie Strandberg, Executive Director
|Louis Ling, Board Attorney
|For Information Contact:
4600 Kietzke Lane, Suite M-245
Reno, NV 89502
Time Zone: Pacific
Office Hours: 7:00 am - 4:00 pm; M-F
|Phone: (775) 688-1921
Fax: (775) 688-1920
(Do not use FAX for applications)
Web address: chirobd.nv.gov
|Exam Dates: Second Wednesday of each month, and on-line
Application/ Transcript Deadline: 60 days prior to exam date
Criminal background check: Yes
|Application fee: $200 plus $36.75 background check; total = $236.75
Exam fee: $125
Initial license fee: $225
License Renewal fee: $ 700 ─ active; $250 – inactive/retired
Paper Renewal: $725 -- active; $275 -- inactive/retired
|Preceptor/Intern/Extern Program: Undergraduate: $35 application fee; Preceptor DC: $35 application fee; Graduated (not yet licensed) DCs may practice under a licensed DC.
|Students: May not sit for board exams prior to graduating.
Require supervised practice prior to full licensure: No
|License(s) Required for Practice: Chiropractic
Optional Certification: 10 day temporary license, $50 application fee plus a $50 license fee, 30 days in advance. Application fee is not required if providing chiropractic services with no remuneration.
|CONTINUING EDUCATION: Accepts PACE
|Requirements: 36 hours (non-practice-building, approval 30 days in advance).
Distance Credits Allowed: 36 hours
Program Criteria: Board approves all programs. Sponsor must be state-level association or higher, CCE accredited or status holding chiropractic college, or State Board. No practice building.
Requires sexual boundaries training: No
|Requires AIDS awareness/risk prevention training: No
Other specific CE training required: None
CONDITIONS FOR RECIPROCITY/ENDORSEMENT: NBCE Parts I, II, III, IV & PT not required if the doctor has actively practiced 7 of last 10 years without any adverse disciplinary actions and passes Nevada Law test.
EXAMINATIONS ADMINISTERED BY STATE: Nevada law
|NATIONAL BOARD EXAMINATIONS
|Part I: Required
Part II: Required
Part III (WCCE): Required
Part IV: Required
|Acupuncture: Not accepted
SPEC: Upon the Board's determination
Reinstatement Lapsed License: Accepted
Disciplinary Cases: Accepted
Impairment Review: Accepted
|PHYSIOTHERAPY: Termed Physiotherapy
|Certification: Included in chiropractic license
Additional Education: No specific requirements
|Additional Examination: NBCE Physiotherapy required
Additional Fee: None
Min. # years pre-professional education required for licensure: 60 credit hours. No requirement for 4-year degree planned.
Accreditation for Chiropractic Programs/Institutions: Council on Chiropractic Education or any governmental accrediting agency (this requirement may be waived for good cause shown)
SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS FOR GRADUATES OF FOREIGN COLLEGES: Graduates of Canadian Memorial Chiropractic College are accepted. Graduates of other non-U.S. colleges contact Board for case-by-case acceptance.
|SUMMARY OF SCOPE OF PRACTICE: (Contact State for precise definition by state law)
The science, art and practice of palpating and adjusting the articulations of the human body by hand, the use of physiotherapy, hygienic, nutritive and sanitary measures and all methods of diagnosis. A Doctor of Chiropractic shall not pierce or sever any body tissue, except to perform venipuncture for diagnostic purposes.
|OTHER REFERENCE INFORMATION:
Board regulates specialty council certification: May advertise a specialty ONLY if holds diplomate or certification status registered with the Board.
Board permits or authorizes travel-to-treat requirements: Must apply at least 30 days in advance for temporary 10-day license; 2 per person per year; and $50 application fee plus $50 license fee. Application fee is not required if providing chiropractic services with no remuneration.
Board permits or authorizes telemedicine practices: Yes
Licensees required to carry malpractice insurance: No
Additionally legally accepted terms for chiropractor (in addition to Doctor of Chiropractic, D.C., Chiropractor, Chiropractic Doctor): Chiropractic Physician
Peer Review: No peer review program by Board.
Certified Clinical Chiropractic Assistants: CA's are certified in Nevada
Chiropractors defined as Primary Care Physicians: No
STATISTICAL INFORMATION: Total # of Licensees as of 1/2019: 709
|BOARD MEMBERS / TERMS:
Board handles both licensing and disciplinary functions.
|Jason O. Jaeger, D.C., President, Exp. 10/2019
Morgan Rovetti, D.C., Vice President, Exp. 10/2020
Xavier Martinez, D.C., Secretary-Treasurer, Exp. 10/2020
Nicole Canada, D.C. Exp 10/2022
|Margaret Colucci, D.C., Exp. 10/2018
John Bertoldo, Esq., Consumer Member. Exp. 10/2021
Tracy DiFillippo, Esq., Consumer Member, Exp. 10/2019
|# of Active licenses: 614
# of Inactive licenses: 95
# of Other Status:
|# of New licensees:
# of Resident licenses:
# of Non-Resident licenses:
# of Chiropractic Assistants: 292